Faith in God

Posted: August 26, 2010 in Faith, Healing

Last night I was reading The 166 Lifestyle by Marc Lawson when something just clicked for me. For as long as I have pursued seeing people get healed I have either thought that I have faith for a condition to be healed or I don’t. My focus has been on the mountain/sickness/problem. The only problem is that if you haven’t seen a condition healed then you typically don’t have faith for it. One “giant” for me has been developmental disabilities such as autism, cerebral palsy, etc… Although I strongly desire to see people with them healed, I have said that I don’t have faith for it, so I don’t pursue after people with those conditions in public, but will pray for them if they come to me. That should be a red flag right there because if we are afraid to do something we dream of doing, we are believing a lie.

What I realized is that while I have been focused on having faith for this to be healed or that to be healed, I need to just have faith in God (Mark 11:23)! I have experienced bits of this in the past, but kind of like a training wheels version of it. One example is for a few weeks around when I started my 2nd year of BSSM every time I got a word of knowledge for a person they got healed. Why, I believed so strongly that God wanted to heal them. Another example is that during a few different seasons whenever God would give me a word of knowledge for the ear I knew the person would get healed. The funny thing with this was I only had faith to pray for the person when God showed it to me, but NOT when someone just brought a deaf person up to me. You may notice the pattern here. I had faith in God when He pointed it out to me. In those occasions I had faith in His desire, character, and power to do it. However, when God didn’t point it out to me, I didn’t have nearly as much faith that my prayers would work. It sounds stupid now, but that’s how it was for a few years.

Having faith in God for one thing doesn’t work for another. Having faith in God means you know that “by his wounds you have been healed,” (1 Peter 2:24). It means you know that believers “will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover,” (Mark 16:15-18). You know that Jesus healed every person who came to Him even people who weren’t the lost sheep of Israel (see yesterday’s post). It means you know God’s character, His goodness, and His love. It means you know that because healing is in the atonement it is already done and you don’t need to convince God to heal someone. It means you have faith in God’s word because He doesn’t contradict His word. When you read Mark 16:15-18 and Matthew 10:7-8 do you believe it and act accordingly? The issue isn’t a matter of having faith for healing, it is really a matter of whether we believe God or not.

(This morning I became aware that Brandon has also been writing on this subject. Although I read his post “Simple Faith” before writing this, I did not write this in response or reaction to his post. If you read this post and “Simple Faith” you will notice we use different language which seem to contradict, but I think the overall point is the same. After writing this I also found his post, “How to have great faith”. I recommend reading both to hear further perspective about the subject. I have added Brandon’s site “I am a Spirit” to my links on the left side of your screen.)

Leave a Reply

