Annoying prayers

Posted: September 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

Disclaimer: If you have done what I am about to say I am not mad at you, as I have done it too. Let’s mature as a body to the fullness of Christ (Ephesians 4:13)!

Recently I have noticed that I have become frustrated with certain prayers or prophetic words. Typically the prophetic word says something that like “You are going to do this,” and this thing they mentioned is something that all believers are supposed to do. Or the prayer could be something that completely contradicts what we have through Jesus. Does this annoy anyone else?

While I understand the need to encourage people who do not yet understand that they can and are supposed to do certain things why do we need to prophesy it? We shouldn’t need prophetic words to tell us that we are going to do what we have already been given the ability and command to do. Likewise, why do we pray for God to do something that Jesus already did? We do not need to convince God to do something that He already did. We need to go do what He already told us to do. I’ll admit, I have been there. My faith for seeing people healed used to be so small that I was really encouraged to hear someone prophesy that I would heal the sick.

On the other hand, this morning someone gave me a prophetic word about doing something that God’s word does not tell me to do (that I know of), but was something that has been on my heart a little bit to do. Honestly, I don’t know if I would have followed through with doing it on my own, but with that prophetic word I will. Why did this word help? Because it was specific about doing something that Jesus didn’t tell me to do but that will benefit the body.

When somebody is immature, they need simple directions, others to tell them who they are, and constant encouragement. When somebody is mature, they don’t need to have their hand held every second or to be told to do something they already are supposed to do.  The mature get things done. While most would agree that age can bring maturity, age does not equal maturity. The bottom line is that we all need to mature.

“It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers, to prepare God’s people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.” – Ephesians 4:11-13

Comments
  1. Anna Mangeni says:

    Amen. One of the things that frustrates me is when people claim that God has given them a word that does not line up with the bible. God will not contradict His Word. The most frustrating thing about giving prophetic words is when you give someone a prophetic word they say they receive it but then turn around and do something completely based on what they can see (carnality) and not based on faith in the prophetic word given.

Leave a Reply

